The Tennessee Secretary of State has oversight of the Department of State.  The Secretary of State is one of three Constitutional Officers elected by the General Assembly, in joint session.  The Secretary of State is elected to a four-year term. The constitution mandates that it is the secretary's duty to keep a register of the official acts and proceedings of the governor, and, when required, to "lay same, all papers, minutes and vouchers relative thereto, before the General Assembly.''

Services Column