As you learned in U.S. History, the United States was founded on the ideas that government should run differently in a democratic republic with checks and balances between three branches of government, and a division of power between the states and the national government. Ever since the ratification of the Constitution in 1789 the basic foundations of our government have largely remained the same.

Like state government, the federal government has three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial. The executive branch is run by the President. Like a governor, the President has many federal agencies to help carry out his or her duties. The legislative branch is also made up of two houses. The U.S. Senate has 100 members, two senators from each state. The legislative branch also includes the U.S. House of Representatives which is made up of 435 members. The number of members per state changes depending on population shifts. Legislation must pass both the House and Senate, and then be signed by the President in order to become a law. The judicial branch is comprised of the courts. The highest court in the land is the United States Supreme Court.

Tennesseans have played an important role in the federal government. Three different presidents have been from Tennessee: Andrew Jackson, James K. Polk, and Andrew Johnson. Other Tennesseans that have served in high-ranking posts include one Vice President, several cabinet members, and different leadership positions in the House and Senate.

The Tennessee delegation, two senators and nine representatives, is responsible for making federal law and overseeing the administration of the federal government. They also help citizens intersect with federal agencies and handle constituent matters. Members of Congress also play a crucial role interacting with state government officials because the federal law can impact the way state government must operate in different ways.

The two senators that represent Tennessee are Marsha Blackburn and Bill Hagerty. For more information about their offices, click below.

Senator Marsha Blackburn

Senator Bill Hagerty

Tennessee is divided into nine congressional districts.

Nine Congressional Districts Image