Tennessee Senate District 77 Special Election

There will be a special election for voters in Dyer, Lake and Obion counties to fill the Tennessee House District 77 vacancy. The writ of election and key dates are now available. The primary election will be Tuesday, November 5, 2019. The general election will be Thursday, December 19, 2019.

Eight candidates filed petitions by the qualifying deadline at noon on Thursday, September 26, 2019:

Republican Primary

  • Rusty Grills
  • Casey L Hood
  • Bob Kirk
  • Vanedda Prince Webb

Democratic Primary

  • Michael Smith

Independent Candidates

  • Ronnie Henley
  • Billy M Jones
  • Max Smith

Highlighted Programs

A picture of the members of State Election Commission

Learn more about the State Election Commission.

logo image for Online Voter Registration

The Tennessee Online Voter Registration System offers a convenient way for voters to easily register or change their address if they have moved....

Williamson County Courthouse

Need to register to vote, update your address, submit a change of name request or request a duplicate voter registration card? Contact your local...

Cell phone displaying #GoVoteTN voter app

The GoVoteTN app allows Tennesseans the opportunity to view their sample ballot, locate their polling location and learn about their district....

Sign that says "I'm registered to vote. Are you?", www.GoVoteTN.com, National Voter Registration Month

Provides a link to the voter registration application and outlines the qualifications to vote.

Map of Middle and East Tennessee showing Nashville, Chattanooga and Knoxville

This tool allows the voter to review their registration information, the early voting schedule and locate their Election Day polling place.

Elections Videos

Do you ever wonder if voting matters? This video explains why your vote actually does matter and why you should vote in this upcoming election.
This video explains what voters can expect when casting a ballot in the state of Tennessee. It is produced by the Tennessee Secretary of State's office and the Division of Elections.
This video explains how Tennessee students should conduct voter registration drives on college campuses across the state. It is produced by the Tennessee Secretary of State's office and the Division of Elections.
Four County Elections Officials Pass Certification Exam
Four county administrators of elections are being recognized for passing the state certification exam. Secretary of State Tre Hargett presented each administrator with a certificate Monday at the annual state election law summer seminar in Nashville. Two administrators passed the exam Sept. 24, 2018. As a result, all 95 counties had a certified administrator of elections for the November 2018 general election: Josh Tapp, Fayette County Administrator of Elections; Kyra Inglis, Marion County Administrator of Elections.Two administrators passed the exam May 9, 2019: Andy Farrar, Coffee County Administrator of Elections; Susie Davenport, Warren County Administrator of Elections.
Mark Goins and Carolyn Peebles
Secretary of State Tre Hargett Appoints Members to the U.S. Election Assistance Commission Standards Board
Tennessee Secretary of State Tre Hargett today appointed the state’s two representatives to the U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) Standards Board, in compliance with the Help America Vote Act of 2002 (HAVA). Secretary Hargett appointed Tennessee Coordinator of Elections Mark Goins, a Republican, and Rutherford County Election Commissioner Carolyn Peebles, a Democrat, to the Standards Board. HAVA requires the chief election official of each state to appoint one state election official and one local election official and the two members appointed may not be of the same political party.
Want to Vote Nov. 6? Registration Deadline is Oct. 9
Want to Vote Nov. 6? Registration Deadline is Oct. 9
Registering to vote is easy in Tennessee. Tennessee citizens may register online from a computer, tablet or smartphone at GoVoteTN.com. Voters may also register in person or submit a voter registration form by mail, but forms must be postmarked by Tuesday.
Tennessee Secretary of State Cautions Voters
Tennessee Secretary of State Cautions Voters Against Misleading Election Information
October 4, 2018 - Tennessee Secretary of State Tre Hargett is warning voters to be aware of misleading information regarding voter registration as the deadline to register for the November election approaches on Tuesday, October 9.

About Elections

The Division of Elections is headed by the Coordinator of Elections, Mark Goins, who oversees the election process in the State of Tennessee. The Coordinator of Elections works directly with ninety-five (95) local county election commissions, candidates and the public on election related issues.  The county election commissions are appointed by the State Election Commission.  There are ninety-five (95) county election commission offices throughout the State. 

Division of Elections
Mark Goins, Coordinator of Elections
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue
Snodgrass Tower, 7th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243

About the State Election Commission

The State Election Commission is composed of seven members, four from the political party holding a majority of seats in the General Assembly and three from the minority party. These individuals are elected for a term of four years. This is the only commission in Tennessee state government which is elected wholly by the General Assembly.

To be eligible to serve on the State Election Commission one must be at least 25 years old, a resident of this state for at least seven years, and a resident of the grand division of the state from which one seeks election for at least four years preceding the election. No more than any two members may be from the same grand division of the state.

The State Election Commission is responsible for appointing five county election commissioners for every county in the state. This is done on the first Monday in April in every odd-numbered year. After making such appointments, the state commissioners then monitor the activities and performance of the county election commissioners and shall remove a county election commissioner for violation of the oath of office or if that person is no longer qualified to hold the position.

Candidates for statewide offices qualify by filing their candidate petitions with the commission, and the commission must pass on the correctness and propriety of such petitions. The commission works very closely with the coordinator of elections toward the common goal of maintaining uniformity in elections as well as preserving the purity of the ballot.

Members of the State Election Commission are:

  • Donna Barrett, Murfreesboro;
  • Judy Blackburn, Morristown;
  • Greg Duckett, Memphis;
  • Mike McDonald, Portland;
  • Jimmy Wallace, Jackson;
  • Tom Wheeler, Clinton;
  • Kent Younce, La Follette.

Please address all correspondence for the State Election Commission to the Division of Elections:

Division of Elections 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue 7th Floor, Snodgrass Tower Nashville, Tennessee 37243-0309 (615) 741-7956