Six Teachers Appointed to Civic Engagement Committee

Civic Engagement Committee

The Tennessee Secretary of State’s office is pleased to announce six new members and the continued service of three on the Civic Education and Engagement Advisory Committee.


Since its inception as the Blue Book Curriculum Task Force, the committee was expanded to advise and assist Secretary of State Tre Hargett on the best ways to get students to become more civically engaged. The committee’s noteworthy achievements include the creation of lesson plans based on the Tennessee Blue Book, lesson plans used during the Student Mock Election, critical support of the annual civics essay contest and regional teacher workshops.


“I am grateful for the time and effort these teachers graciously offer to help increase civic engagement in Tennessee,” Secretary Hargett said. “Each committee member has a passion for ensuring our youngest Tennesseans are engaged citizens, and I am certain they will be an asset to the planning and integration of our civic engagement initiatives into our schools.”

Civic Education and Engagement Advisory Committee

Cindy Bellamy

John Adams Elementary School

Kingsport City Schools

Rebecca Marino

Arnold Memorial Elementary School

Cleveland City Schools

Gordon Sisk

Karns High School

Knox County Schools

Kimberly Dilden*

Northeast Middle School

Jackson-Madison County Schools

Brian Huber*

Whitehaven High School

Shelby County Schools

Scott Johnson*

Battle Ground Academy

Private, Franklin

Blair Lynch*

Elmore Park Middle School

Bartlett City Schools

Joshua Parker*

Campbell County High School

Campbell County Schools

Deb Stout*

North Cumberland Elementary School

Cumberland County Schools

*Denotes new committee appointment

For more information on civic engagement initiatives, including the annual civics essay contest, Student Mock Election and lesson plans, visit