Civics Essay Contest

Students writing together at a table

The Tennessee Secretary of State’s office is proud to announce the winners of the fourth annual essay contest. This contest is held with the intent of encouraging students to be actively engaged citizens now and in the future. The contest, along with the Student Mock Election, is part of the office’s civic engagement program.

This year’s essay contest theme was civic duty. Students who sign up and complete a shift as a Poll Official on Election Day wrote about their experience working and the importance of performing our civic duty. Winners will receive a TNStars 529 College Savings Program scholarship. First place winners receive a $1,000 scholarship, with second and third place winners receiving $500 and $250 respectively.

2020 Civics Essay Contest Winners

Western Division

1st Place: Gena Ann Parker – Millington Central High School (Shelby County) 
2nd Place: Sydni Aylor – Bolivar Central High School (Hardeman County) 
3rd Place: Avery Pace – Lexington High School (Henderson County) 

Middle Division

1st Place: Matthew Shipley – Pope John Paul II High School (Sumner County) 
2nd Place: Bailey Glenn – Warren County High School (Warren County) 
3rd Place: Tucker Mountain – Livingston Academy (Overton County)

Eastern Division

1st Place: Callie Carson – Scott High School (Scott County)
2nd Place: Abbigail Miller – Cumberland County High School (Cumberland County) 
3rd Place: McKenna Garren – Loudon High School (Loudon County)


Previous Years Winners

2018 Essay Contest Winners

2017 Essay Contest Winners

2016 Essay Contest Winners