About the Board

The Tennessee Highway Officials Certification Board was created to ensure candidates for the office of chief highway administrative officer in a county are qualified pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 54-7-104.

Candidates interested in running for highway superintendent in counties in which the Uniform County Highway Law applies must file affidavits stating their experience with the board. The board then reviews the affidavits, and qualified candidates are certified and provided with a certificate to be filed with their nominating petitions in counties where the position is elected or with the appointing authority in counties where the position is appointed.

The board has five members whose terms expire in June 2021:

  • Manny Belen
  • Bryon Fortner
  • Jessica Cunningham Lim, Chairman
  • Nicole Shaffer
  • Bob Wormsley