Buffalo River Regional Library

Buffalo River Regional Library

Our Vision and Mission

The vision of the Buffalo River Regional Library, and its counterpart regional libraries across the state of Tennessee, is that the citizens of Tennessee will have the information they need for personal growth and development.

The mission of the Tennessee Regional Library System is to make libraries better by:

  • assisting local governments and public libraries in the development and improvement of public library services;
  • assisting libraries in the selection, maintenance and use of library technologies;
  • providing supplementary library materials and digital content to member public libraries and facilitating the preparation of materials for public use;
  • facilitating the sharing of resources between libraries through a delivery system;
  • providing opportunities to participate in shared automation systems;
  • and providing continuing education to local library staff and trustees.


The regional library program was first developed in Tennessee because of the large population, the distances between the cities, and the lack of public library service across the state. The program was first authorized by state legislature in 1936 but was not funded until 1939, when the Tennessee Valley Authority contracted with Lawson McGhee Library in Knoxville to provide service to four counties in East Tennessee.

During 1946, the counties of Franklin, Lawrence, Marshall and Warren formed a region known as the Middle Tennessee State College Region. In 1947, three counties were added to the region - Coffee, Rutherford, and Wilson. These were followed by Bedford County in 1949, Maury County in 1951. and Moore County in 1953.

In July 1954, Lawrence, Marshall and Maury counties were transferred to a new region at Columbia called the Blue Grass Region. At the same time three other counties were transferred from the Austin Peay Region into the newly formed region. These counties were Hickman, Lewis and Perry.

In October 1955, Giles County came into the Blue Grass Region with Wayne County joining in 1956. Williamson County, the last county in the state to join the regional system, joined Blue Grass in 1968. From 1968 to 2012, the region was made up of nine counties - Giles, Hickman, Lawrence, Lewis, Marshall, Maury, Perry, Wayne and Williamson. In July 2012, the regional library system was reorganized. The Blue Grass Region become the Buffalo Region and Lincoln County joined the new region.

The Blue Grass Region was set up by Miss Mary Nelson Bates of the Tennessee State Library and Archives, who acted as director until the arrival of Miss Mary Melton in October 1954. Since then the region has seen a succession of regional directors. The current regional director is Marion Bryant. From its founding in 1955 until 1999 the region was governed by a board appointed by the county commissions of the member counties. On July 1, 1999, the region became part of the State of Tennessee Department of State and the Board moved into an advisory role.

The Buffalo River Region contracts each year with the ten member counties to coordinate local library services in the region and to provide professional advice and assistance to the member libraries. The region also supplies a large collection of materials to supplement those owned by the local libraries and provides assistance with technology issues and planning.

As the largest of the twelve multi-county regions, the Buffalo River Region's service area covers 5,393 square miles and has a population of approximately 480,000. The regional library currently services 28 member libraries.

Buffalo River Regional Library
230 E. James Campbell Blvd., Suite 108
Columbia, TN 38401

Legislators Public Libraries in the Region Staff Trustees


Jack Johnson

Kerry Roberts

Jim Tracy

Joey Hensley




Glen Casada

Sheila Butt

Pat Marsh

Sam Whitson

Barry Doss

David Byrd

Steve McDaniel

Charles Sargent

Rick Tillis



Marion Bryant

Assistant Director
Anne Osborne

Administrative Services Assistant
Jacqueline D. Johnson

Technical Services Assistant
Kim Henderson

Library Information Systems Specialist
Amy Henderson


Giles County
William Harrison
Martena Koken

Hickman County
Brian Graham
Beatrice Jobe

Lawrence County
Diane Ezell
Carlene Jent

Lewis County
Patsy Griner
Joan Talley

Lincoln County
Darla Bonner
Tonya Travis

Marshall County
Brenda Brown
Beth Chunn

Maury County
Lawrence Douglas, Chair
Martha Woody

Perry County
Rita Baker
Becky Hendrix

Wayne County
Allen Berry
Jerry Whitten

Williamson County
Jerry Bull
Paul Webb