Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties > Loudon County

Loudon County

Loudon County

Loudon County was formed in 1870 from
Blount, McMinn, Monroe and Roane counties
(Public Acts of Tennessee 1870, Chapter 2;
Public Acts of Tennessee 1870, Chapter 77, changed
the name from Christiana County to Loudon County) .

The county seat is Loudon.



  • A Place Called Greenback : An East Tennessee Town at the Turn of the Century, 1870-1917 (Best, 1993)
  • Beloved Landmarks of Loudon County, Tennessee (Daughters of the American Revolution, 1962)
  • Loudon County, We Call it Home (198?)
  • Past times : Obituaries, Marriages and Other Selected Articles from the Maryville Times, Maryville, Tennessee, 1884-1890 (Teffeteller, 2008) [name index]
  • Remembering our Heritage : Townspeople do the "Impossible" : Scrap Book (Forkner, 1986)

Additional county and community histories can be found at the Bibliography of Tennessee Local History Sources:  Loudon County. The items in the bibliography may not all be available at the Tennessee State Library and Archives.  



  • 1880 Census, Loudon County, Tennessee (McConkey, 1987) [name index]
  • 1880 Census, Loudon County, Tennessee (Sistler, 2002) [alphabetical by surname]
  • 1910 Loudon County, Tennessee, Census (Smallen, 1995) [surname index]
  • Blount County, Tennessee Cemetery Records : Including Blount Section of Loudon and Monroe Counties, Tennessee (Little, 1980) [surname index]
  • Cumberland Co., Tennessee, Fentress Co., Tennessee, Jackson Co., Tennessee, Loudon Co., Tennessee, Morgan Co., Tennessee, Overton Co. [1891 enumeration of male voters] (Reed, 1990)
  • Fort Loudoun Reservoir Cemeteries (Douthat, 1988) [surname index]
  • Hawkins Mortuary and Mausoleum Death Records, 1949-1981, Lenoir City, Tennessee (Brown, 1982) [name index]
  • Loudon County, Tennessee, Tombstone Records (WPA, 1938) [name index]
  • Loudon County, Tennessee Tombstone Records (2011) [name index]
  • Loudon County, Tennessee, Vital Statistics, 1914 Through 1925 (Wiefering, 1993) [name index]
  • Loudon County TN Polk City Directory [with Roane County] (2004-2007, 2009-20)
  • Marriage Records, Loudon County, Tennessee, 1870-1910 (Brown, 1973) [name index]
  • Roane & Loudon Counties, TN Polk City Directory (2006)
  • Roane County TN Polk City Directory (2007, 2009-2012)



An inventory of microfilmed Loudon County records is available on our web site.  Individual reels of microfilm may also be purchased.

Earliest records include:

  • marriages from 1870
  • wills from 1870
  • deed index from 1874
  • chancery court minutes from 1870
  • county court minutes from 1870
  • circuit court minutes from 1870
  • tax books from 1870


The following reel is available on interlibrary loan from the Library and Archives:

  • WPA Records, Loudon County (Record Group #107, Roll 51, 1 reel). Roll includes Tombstone Records (undated).*



Newspapers were published in Lenoir City and Loudon.  Scattered early issues are available from 1852, and a complete run begins in 1954. Microfilms are loaned to Tennessee libraries.  Individual reels may also be purchased.  An Inventory of Newspapers on Microfilm at the Library and Archives is available on our web site.




  • Census on microfilm for Loudon County:  1880, 1900-1930
  • State-wide census index:  1880
  • State-wide census index on microfilm  (Soundex):  1880,  1900-1930
  • Loudon County census records in book form:  1880, 1910





* Indicates this title may be borrowed on Interlibrary Loan from the Library and Archives.