Tennessee School for the Deaf

Tennessee’s School for the Deaf, created by law in 1844, boasts a remarkably long and stable history of educating the state’s students with hearing disabilities.  The school has operated since 1845 in Knoxville, closing only for the Civil War and relocating only once (from downtown to an inner suburb).  This unit of the Tennessee Virtual Archive features images of this unique institution’s buildings, many of which were designed by noted architect and alumnus Thomas Scott Marr.