Library & Archives Additional Policies
An guide listing additional Library & Archives policies.
The Library & Archives has two coin-operated, self-service photocopies available for 15¢ per copy.
A time limit is imposed when others are waiting; large orders can be handled by our staff for 25¢
per copy. Copies from original manuscript materials can only be made by the Library & Archives
archivists; the cost to make copies from original manuscript materials is 50¢ per copy.
The Library & Archives has two Zeta Book Scanners available to the public. Individuals with a flash
drive can save digital scans of pages from books. Since no toner or paper is involved, there is no
charge for the use of this scanner. A time limit may be imposed when others are waiting.
The Microfilm Reading Room has four microfilm readers that do not have copy capability. There is
no charge to use the readers.
The Microfilm Reading Room has seven coin-operated, self-service microfilm reader-printers; copies
are 25¢. The reader-printers only take quarters. A change machine is available for $1 and $5 bills.
The Microfilm Reading Room has ten microfilm reader-scanners. Patrons can use a flash drive to
save digital scans of records or documents made from microfilm. Since no toner or paper is involved,
there is no charge for the use of these scanners.
The Library and Archives has flash drives available for sale in the Tennessee Room. The 4gb flash
drives are sold at cost.
The majority of original manuscript materials at the Tennessee State Library and Archives have been
microfilmed and are available to the public Tuesday through Saturday from 8:00am–4:30pm
(Central Time), excluding state and federal holidays. The manuscript materials which have not been
microfilmed -- including photographs and maps -- are only available for viewing in the Manuscripts
Reading Area. The Manuscripts Reading area is open Tuesday through Saturday 8:00am -4:30pm
(Central Time). Please note: Archival materials are available for retrieval between the hours of
8:00am -12:00 pm and 1:00 pm -4:00 pm. If you know you will need materials between 12:00 pm
-1:00 pm, please call ahead to the Public Services section at 615-741-2764 or e-mail TSLA. We will do
our best to accommodate your request.
A pay telephone is located in the hallway near the microfilm cabinets. As a courtesy to our other
patrons, we ask that you turn off cell phones while in the building; please make outgoing cell phone
calls outside the building or in the entranceway lobby.
Children must remain under the close supervision of a parent or other adult. Running and loud
talking are strictly forbidden.
Eating and drinking are not permitted in the building, except in the designated Patron Lounge.
In accordance with Tennessee state law (Public Chapter 410, Acts of Tennessee), smoking is not
permitted inside the Tennessee State Library and Archives or within 50 feet of the main entrance.
Restrooms are located near the microfilm area.
Firearms and weapons are prohibited in the building (with the exception of officers of the law in the
course of their duty [TCA 39-17-1315 (9b) (2)]. It is a misdemeanor to intentionally destroy, conceal,
remove or impair the verity, legibility or availability of a government record [TCA 39-16-504].