Tennessee House of Representatives District 95 Special Primary Results

Results for the special primary election held April 27 will be available from the Shelby County Election Commission after 7 p.m. CDT at ShelbyVote.com. The special general election will be held June 15.

County Election Commission Appointments

The State Election Commission met Monday, April 3, to make appointments to county election commissions. Individuals appointed shall qualify within twenty (20) days by filing their oath of office with the State Election Commission. 

A list of commissioners appointed on April 3 is available here. A list of commissioners who will remain on holdover status and serve until successors are appointed and qualified is available here.

Candidates for Tennessee House of Representatives District 95 Special Elections

A list of candidates for Tennessee House of Representatives District 95 is available in PDF and CSV formats. The qualifying deadline was at noon March 16, and the withdrawal deadline is at noon March 23. The primary election will be held April 27, and the general election will be held June 15.

Highlighted Programs

Williamson County Courthouse

Need to register to vote, update your address, submit a change of name request or request a duplicate voter registration card? Contact your local...

keyboard with a question mark button

See the answers to questions frequently asked about Tennessee elections.

Cell phone displaying #GoVoteTN voter app, Tri-star, Words "GoVoteTN Voter App"

The GoVoteTN app allows Tennesseans the opportunity to view their sample ballot, locate their polling location and learn about their district....

Three soldiers saluting with the words "Honor Vote"

The Honor Vote program gives Tennesseans the opportunity to dedicate their vote to active-duty military personnel and veterans.

Sign that says "I'm registered to vote. Are you?", www.GoVoteTN.com, National Voter Registration Month

Provides a link to the voter registration application and outlines the qualifications to vote.

Map of Middle and East Tennessee showing Nashville, Chattnoonga and Knoxville

This tool allows the voter to review their registration information, the early voting schedule and locate their Election Day polling place.

Elections Videos

This video explains how Tennessee students should conduct voter registration drives on college campuses across the state. It is produced by the Tennessee Secretary of State's office and the Division of Elections.
This video explains what voters can expect when casting a ballot in the state of Tennessee. It is produced by the Tennessee Secretary of State's office and the Division of Elections.
Do you ever wonder if voting matters? This video explains why your vote actually does matter and why you should vote in this upcoming election.
2015 Edition Tennessee Election Laws book
Elections Officials in Three Counties Recognized for Passing Certification Exam
Secretary of State Tre Hargett would like to congratulate three administrators of elections who passed the state certification exam Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2016.
Elector Mike Callahan who represents Tennessee’s 6th Congressional District signs a voting certificate in the House Chamber Monday, Dec. 19, 2016.
Tennessee Presidential Electors Unanimously Vote for Donald Trump
Tennessee’s presidential electors met at the State Capitol Monday to cast their ballots for president of the United States. The Volunteer State has 11 of the total 538 electoral votes that make up the U.S. Electoral College.
Secretary of State Tre Hargett, Gov. Bill Haslam and Attorney General Herbert Slatery certify Nov. 8 election results with Coordinator of Elections Mark Goins.
Official Nov. 8 General Election Results Available
Official election results from the Nov. 8, 2016, general election are now available. Secretary of State Tre Hargett, Gov. Bill Haslam and Attorney General Herbert Slatery certified Nov. 8 election results with Coordinator of Elections Mark Goins Dec. 13.
Sign that says "VOTE HERE"
Everything You Need to Know to #GoVoteTN Tuesday
The Division of Elections would like to remind Tennesseans how to make voting in the Nov. 8 general election go as smoothly as possible. Many voters are expected Tuesday even after a record-breaking 1,675,679 people voted early in person or by mail ahead of Election Day.

The Division of Elections is headed by the Coordinator of Elections, Mark Goins, who oversees the election process in the State of Tennessee. The Coordinator of Elections works directly with ninety-five (95) local county election commissions, candidates and the public on election related issues.  The county election commissions are appointed by the State Election Commission.  There are ninety-five (95) county election commission offices throughout the State. 

Division of Elections
Mark Goins, Coordinator of Elections
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue
Snodgrass Tower, 7th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243

The State Election Commission is composed of seven members, four from the political party holding a majority of seats in the General Assembly and three from the minority party. These individuals are elected for a term of four years. This is the only commission in Tennessee state government which is elected wholly by the General Assembly.

To be eligible to serve on the State Election Commission one must be at least 25 years old, a resident of this state for at least seven years, and a resident of the grand division of the state from which one seeks election for at least four years preceding the election. No more than any two members may be from the same grand division of the state.

The State Election Commission is responsible for appointing five county election commissioners for every county in the state. This is done on the first Monday in April in every odd-numbered year. After making such appointments, the state commissioners then monitor the activities and performance of the county election commissioners and shall remove a county election commissioner for violation of the oath of office or if that person is no longer qualified to hold the position.

Candidates for statewide offices qualify by filing their candidate petitions with the commission, and the commission must pass on the correctness and propriety of such petitions. The commission works very closely with the coordinator of elections toward the common goal of maintaining uniformity in elections as well as preserving the purity of the ballot.

Members of the State Election Commission are:

  • Donna Barrett, Murfreesboro;
  • Judy Blackburn, Morristown;
  • Greg Duckett, Memphis;
  • Mike McDonald, Portland;
  • Jimmy Wallace, Jackson;
  • Tom Wheeler, Clinton;
  • Kent Younce, La Follette.

Please address all correspondence for the State Election Commission to the Division of Elections:

Division of Elections 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue 7th Floor, Snodgrass Tower Nashville, Tennessee 37243-0309 (615) 741-7956